Being Ugandan, I know many of you will misinterpret the title. 😂 But I’m not talking about those things. I’m talking about food.

It is very important be in good health. You must first be alive and well, then you can do the things you set out to do. Even when you’re on a plane and the crew is giving you the safety guidelines, they tell you you must put on your life vest first before you help your child with theirs.

Eating well is to do with having a healthy diet. These days there is so much information about what to eat that it is confusing. Just when you have been convinced to eat right for your blood type, some other theory comes up. It is hard to keep up with all that. In primary school we were taught something simple about a balanced diet; it should have carbs, protein, fat, fibre, vitamins, minerals and water. That’s how simple I try to keep it.

If you want more scientific advice on how to eat well, contact Dr. Paul Kasenene.

The doctor of the future will give no medication, but will interest his patients in the care of the human frame, diet and in the cause and prevention of disease.

Thomas A Edison

A friend once told me something I found useful. He advised me to eat my food in a particular order. Always eat the vegetables first, then I can eat the proteins, etc. But the carbs should always be last. When I asked him why, he said that if I got satisfied and could not finish my food, at least I would have had my veggies and protein. 🙂 Well, apparently, eating veggies and proteins before carbs makes you fuller for longer and helps control blood sugar. You may need to read more about that.

The bottom line is that we need to eat well to remain in good health, have more energy and generally feel great. It is only when you are healthy that you can have the peace of mind to achieve what you have set out to.